Town was built entirely of stone and because it preserved its antique look many visitors gave it a name “stone beauty” and “city of works of art”. The most important monument is three vaulted cathedral (13th – 15th century) with its known portal made by master Radovan in 1240.His work is a result of peculiar synthesis of Romanesque and Gothic style thus he became a trademark of Trogir’s sculpting as well as Croatian medieval art. In the mid 15th century construction of large Kamerlengo castle was completed (Camerlengo – lord’s treasurer). Within those city walls besides that fortress there were more than one gate to enter the town and above main north city gates there still stands a statue of Blessed John from Trogir (15th century). The interior of these walls is impressed with noble emblems or coats of arms which stand at the thresholds of numerous palaces and magnificent edifices that are still in great state of preservation and that once belong to respective noble families such as Small Ćipiko Palace, Great Ćipiko Palace, Lucić Palace and Garagnin Palace.
Trogir is often called city museum. Entire downtown and old city core can be seen on foot in precisely 750 steps and in that stroll one can see traces of rich history of Trogir from the Illyrians, Greeks, Romans, Slavs and Croats.
The city is county centre but the whole district includes area around Rogoznica to Resnik, islands Small and Big Drvenik and half of the island Čiovo.